Winners of the 2022 Pulitzer Prizes

From by Kristen Hare on winners of the 2022 Pulitzer Prizes:

Breaking News Reporting:

Awarded to the staff of the Miami Herald for its coverage of the collapse of the Champlain Towers South condominium complex, merging clear and compassionate writing with comprehensive news and accountability reporting.

Investigative Reporting: 

Awarded to Corey G. Johnson, Rebecca Woolington and Eli Murray of the Tampa Bay Times for a compelling exposé of highly toxic hazards inside Florida’s only battery recycling plant that forced the implementation of safety measures to adequately protect workers and nearby residents.

Explanatory Reporting: 

Awarded to the staff of Quanta Magazine, and notably Natalie Wolchover, for coverage that revealed the complexities of building the James Webb Space Telescope, designed to facilitate groundbreaking astronomical and cosmological research.

Local Reporting:

Awarded to Madison Hopkins of the Better Government Association and Cecilia Reyes of the Chicago Tribune for a piercing examination of the city’s long history of failed building- and fire-safety code enforcement, which let scofflaw landlords commit serious violations that resulted in dozens of unnecessary deaths.

National Reporting:

Awarded to the staff of The New York Times for an ambitious project that quantified a disturbing pattern of fatal traffic stops by police, illustrating how hundreds of deaths could have been avoided and how officers typically avoided punishment.

International Reporting:

Awarded to the staff of The New York Times for courageous and relentless reporting that exposed the vast civilian toll of U.S.-led airstrikes, challenging official accounts of American military engagements in Iraq, Syria and Afghanistan.

Feature Writing: 

Awarded to Jennifer Senior of The Atlantic for an unflinching portrait of a family’s reckoning with loss in the 20 years since 9/11, masterfully braiding the author’s personal connection to the story with sensitive reporting that reveals the long reach of grief.


Awarded to Melinda Henneberger of The Kansas City Star for persuasive columns demanding justice for alleged victims of a retired police detective accused of being a sexual predator.


Awarded to Salamishah Tillet, contributing critic at large, The New York Times, for learned and stylish writing about Black stories in art and popular culture —- work that successfully bridges academic and nonacademic critical discourse.

Editorial Writing:

Awarded to Lisa Falkenberg, Michael Lindenberger, Joe Holley and Luis Carrasco of the Houston Chronicle for a campaign that, with original reporting, revealed voter suppression tactics, rejected the myth of widespread voter fraud and argued for sensible voting reforms.

Illustrated Reporting and Commentary:

Awarded to Fahmida Azim, Anthony Del Col, Josh Adams and Walt Hickey of Insider for using graphic reportage and the comics medium to tell a powerful yet intimate story of the Chinese oppression of the Uyghurs, making the issue accessible to a wider public.

Breaking News Photography:

Awarded to Marcus Yam of the Los Angeles Times for raw and urgent images of the U.S. departure from Afghanistan that capture the human cost of the historic change in the country.

Awarded to Win McNamee, Drew Angerer, Spencer Platt, Samuel Corum and Jon Cherry of Getty Images for comprehensive and consistently riveting photos of the attack on the U.S. Capitol.

Feature Photography:

Awarded to Adnan Abidi, Sanna Irshad Mattoo, Amit Dave and the late Danish Siddiqui of Reuters for images of COVID’s toll in India that balanced intimacy and devastation, while offering viewers a heightened sense of place.

Audio Reporting: 

Awarded to the staffs of Futuro Media in New York and PRX in Boston for “Suave,” a brutally honest and immersive profile of a young man reentering society after serving more than 30 years in prison.

Public Service:

Awarded to The Washington Post for its compellingly told and vividly presented account of the assault on Washington, D.C., on Jan. 6, 2021, providing the public with a thorough and unflinching understanding of one of the nation’s darkest days.

Special Citation:

Awarded to the journalists of Ukraine for their courage, endurance and commitment to truthful reporting during Vladimir Putin’s ruthless invasion of their country and his propaganda war in Russia. Despite bombardment, abductions, occupation and even deaths in their ranks, they have persisted in their effort to provide an accurate picture of a terrible reality, doing honor to Ukraine and to journalists around the world.
Also see the Pulitzer Prizes announcement from that includes the finalists in each category plus winners in books, drama, and music.

Speak Your Mind