National Book Foundation Honors Five Under 35 Writers

The National Book Foundation is proud to honor five debut fiction writers whose work promises to leave a lasting impression on the literary landscape.Each honoree was selected by past National Book Award Winners, Finalists, and Longlisted authors, or writers previously recognized by the 5 Under 35 program. This year’s honorees join a list of acclaimed past 5 Under 35 authors like Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, Naima Coster, Akwaeke Emezi, Yaa Gyasi, Phil Klay, Valeria Luiselli, Kirstin Valdez Quade, Bryan Washington, Charles Yu, and many more.

For the first time, the 5 Under 35 Ceremony will take place in the spring. Both the 2022 and 2021 5 Under 35 honorees will be celebrated at an invitation-only ceremony in New York City this June. You can read the full announcement on Vulture today and learn more about 5 Under 35 and the National Book Foundation on our website.

Alexandra Chang

Author of
Days of Distraction

Selected by Jason Mott, 2021 National Book Award Winner for Fiction

Joseph Han

Author of
Nuclear Family

Selected by Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi, 2015 5 Under 35 honoree

Crystal Hana Kim

Author of
If You Leave Me

Selected by Min Jin Lee, 2017 National Book Award Finalist for Fiction

Clare Sestanovich

Author of
Objects of Desire: Stories

Selected by Anthony Doerr, 2021 and 2014 National Book Award Finalist for Fiction

Alyssa Songsiridej

Author of
Little Rabbit

Selected by Julia Phillips, 2019 National Book Award Finalist for Fiction

Speak Your Mind