Judy Woodruff Wins Emmy for Lifetime Achievement in TV News

From the PBS NewsHour:

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced that PBS NewsHour anchor and managing editor Judy Woodruff has been named the recipient of this year’s Emmy Award for Lifetime Achievement in Television News. The award recognizes Woodruff’s pioneering five-decade career in journalism and long tenure at PBS NewsHour.

“We look forward to honoring this year’s unparalleled class of Lifetime Achievement honorees — each an icon in their craft — and couldn’t be more excited to award the first-ever Children’s & Family Emmys,” said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS.

NewsHour’s senior executive producer Sara Just added, “Judy Woodruff continues to inspire with the fair, incisive journalism she brings to the PBS NewsHour every night. It is an honor for all of us at NewsHour to work with her and try to meet the standards she sets for herself and all of us.”

The award will be presented September 28th at the 43rd Annual News Emmy Ceremony at the Palladium Times Square Theater in New York City.

Woodruff has covered politics and other news for five decades at NBC, CNN and PBS. From 1983 to 1993, she was the chief Washington correspondent for the MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour. From 1984 – 1990, she also anchored PBS’ award-winning documentary series, “Frontline with Judy Woodruff.” Moving to CNN in 1993, she served as anchor and senior correspondent for 12 years and anchored the weekday program “Inside Politics.” She returned to the NewsHour in 2007, and in 2013, she and the late Gwen Ifill were named the first two women to co-anchor a national news broadcast. After Ifill’s death, Woodruff was named sole anchor.

Woodruff is a founding co-chair of the International Women’s Media Foundation, an organization dedicated to promoting and encouraging women in journalism and communication industries worldwide. She is the recent recipient of the inaugural Peabody Award for Journalistic Integrity the Radcliffe Medal, the Poynter Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism, the Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award from the Committee to Protect Journalists and the Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism from Arizona State University.

She received the Edward R. Murrow Lifetime Achievement Award in Television from Washington State University, the Gaylord Prize for Excellence in Journalism and Mass Communication from the University of Oklahoma and the Al Neuharth Award for Excellence in the Media from the University of South Dakota. She was inducted into the Georgia Association of Broadcasters Hall of Fame and received the Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award from the Radio Television Digital News Association and the Duke Distinguished Alumni Award, among others.

Speak Your Mind