The 2021 Edward R. Murrow Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism. These are the 2021 RTDNA National Murrow Awards.

Here are the winners in the Large Digital News Organization category:

Overall Excellence

Boston, MA

Breaking News Coverage

How a night of protest turned deadly in Kenosha
The Washington Post
Washington, DC

Continuing Coverage

Star Tribune continuing coverage of George Floyd’s death
Star Tribune
Minneapolis, MN

Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

How US schools punish Black kids
Vox Media
New York, NY

Excellence in Innovation

Interactive Transcripts of Multimedia News Events
The Wall Street Journal
New York, NY

Excellence in Sound

Painkiller: America’s Fentanyl Crisis – Episode 5 (Pain)
VICE Media Group and Spotify
Brooklyn, NY

Excellence in Video

An Aerial View of New York City During a Pandemic
The New Yorker
New York, NY

Excellence in Writing

Politics and Airlines in a pandemic
The Washington Post
Washington, DC

Feature Reporting

A daughter’s promise
Trib Total Media
Pittsburgh, PA

Hard News

The virus’s tale
The Boston Globe
Boston, MA

Investigative Reporting

The Imperfect Alibi: The forgotten suspect, the DNA and the church murders that haunted a detective
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Chamblee, GA

News Documentary

‘Lord Have Mercy’: Inside One of New York’s Deadliest ZIP Codes
The New York Times
New York, NY


Canary: The Washington Post Investigates
The Washington Post
Washington, DC

Sports Reporting

Bob Costas, Kenny Stills: The NFL’s patriotism was cynical. The national anthem protests were not.
The Washington Post
Washington, DC

Speak Your Mind