Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards Reflect His Concerns About Human Rights and Social Justice

From a post from announcing the 2021 Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards:

Founded by the reporters who covered Robert F. Kennedy’s historic 1968 presidential campaign, the Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards honor outstanding reporting on issues that reflect Robert Kennedy’s concerns, including human rights, social justice, and the power of individual action in the United States and around the world. Entries should provide insights into the causes, conditions, and remedies of human rights violations and injustice, and critical analysis of relevant policies, programs, individual actions, and private endeavors that foster positive change.

High School Print and New Voices for Justice Award
Bigoted Badges: How Hate and Violence are Embedded in Kentucky Law Enforcement Training
duPont Manual High School’s Manual RedEye
Satchel Walton, Cooper Walton, and Payton Carns

High School Broadcast
The Pandemic Program
Prosper High School’s Eagle Nation News
Grant Johnson, Kacey Boston, Cristina Folsom, and Maggie Hale

College Journalism
Kids Imprisoned
Carnegie-Knight News21, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication
News21 Staff

Domestic Print and Grand Prize
The Confederate Reckoning
USA TODAY Network in the South
Michael Anastasi and Mark Russell

International Print
Fruits of Labor
Associated Press
Margie Mason and Robin McDowell

Domestic Photography
We Keep Us Safe
VII Photo Agency
André Chung

International Photography
War Forces Thousands of Ethiopians Into Sudan
Associated Press
Nariman El-Mofty

Canary: The Washington Post Investigates
Washington Post
Amy Brittain, Reena Flores, and Bishop Sand

New Media
Gag Order: How Marine Corps Culture Silenced a Victim of Sexual Assault
The War Horse
Thomas Brennan, Kelly Kennedy, and Ben Kalin

In/Vulnerable: Inequity in the Time of Pandemic
Reveal from The Center for Investigative Reporting
Reveal News Team

Domestic Television
16 and Recovering
MTV News
Steve Liss, Ben Hurvitz, Lily Neumeyer, and the team at MTV News

International Television and Seigenthaler Prize
Welcome to Chechnya
David France

Criminal Justice Reform Prize
Dying Inside
Peter Eisler, Jason Szep, Linda So, Grant Smith, Ned Parker, and the rest of the Reuters team

Unworthy Republic: The Dispossession of Native Americans and the Road to Indian Territory
W. W. Norton & Company
Claudio Saunt

Speak Your Mind