Livingston Award Finalists for Local, National, and International Reporting

Wallace House and the University of Michigan announced the 2021 Livingston Awards finalists in local, national and international reporting. The awards support young journalists and honor the best reporting and storytelling by journalists under the age of 35 across all forms of journalism. The 50 finalist selections were chosen from more than 500 entries for work released in 2020. This year’s Livingston Award winners will be announced at a virtual ceremony on June 10, 2021.

Local Reporting

Haley BeMiller, Green Bay Press-Gazette
Lauren Caruba, San Antonio Express-News
Lakeidra Chavis, The Trace in partnership with The Chicago Sun-Times
Ann Choi, Rachel Holiday Smith and Will Welch, The City (NY, NY)
Jessica Contrera, The Washington Post
Courtney Crowder, The Des Moines Register
Andrew Ford, Asbury Park Press in partnership with ProPublica
Eileen Grench, The City (NY, NY)
Samantha Hogan and Agnel Philip, The Maine Monitor and ProPublica
Lizzie Johnson, San Francisco Chronicle
Josh Kaplan, DCist in partnership with Spotlight DC
Soumya Karlamangla, Los Angeles Times
Ana Ley, The Virginian-Pilot
Nichole Manna, Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Jessica Miller, The Salt Lake Tribune
Thad Moore, The Post and Courier (Charleston, S.C.)
Bridget Read, New York Magazine
Eric Sandy, Cleveland Scene
Joshua Sharpe, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

National Reporting

Kenzi Abou-Sabe, Adiel Kaplan and Kit Ramgopal, NBC News Investigative Unit
Hamed Aleaziz, BuzzFeed News
Bethany Barnes, Tampa Bay Times
Eric Boodman, STAT
Sydney Brownstone, Scott Greenstone and Will James, KNKX Public Radio and The Seattle Times
Elizabeth Bruenig, The New York Times
Chabeli Carrazana, The 19th
Elizabeth Dias, The New York Times
Hannah Dreier, The Washington Post
Blake Ellis and Melanie Hicken, CNN
Katie Engelhart, The California Sunday Magazine
Alissa Escarce, Max Siegelbaum and Mazin Sidahmed, Documented, Latino USA and Type Investigations
Eli Hager, The Marshall Project in partnership with The Atlantic
Ellen Huet and Shawn Wen, Bloomberg News
Jamiles Lartey, The Marshall Project
Daniel Lombroso, The Atlantic
Alysia Santo and Elaine Sheldon, The Marshall Project in partnership with FRONTLINE and America ReFramed on WORLD Channel
Emily Shugerman, The Daily Beast
Roman Stubbs, The Washington Post
Sarah Zhang, The Atlantic

International Reporting

Luisa Conlon, Gabriela DeMatteis and Paola Ramos, Vice News
Maddy Crowell, Virginia Quarterly Review
Chao Deng, The Wall Street Journal
Caitlin Dickerson, The New York Times
Emily Feng, NPR
Ruby Gaviola, Lauryn Schroeder and Kate Morrissey, San Diego Union-Tribune
Claire Harbage and Kat Lonsdorf, NPR in partnership with the John Alexander Project
Isayen Herrera and Julie Turkewitz, The New York Times
Emily Keen and Isobel Yeung, Vice News
Timothy McLaughlin, The Atlantic
J. Weston Phippen, POLITICO

Speak Your Mind