Winners of the Hillman Prizes for Journalism

The Hillman Prize is a journalism award given out annually by The Sidney Hillman Foundation, named for noted American labor leader Sidney Hillman. It is given to “journalists, writers and public figures who pursue social justice and public policy for the common good.” The 2021 winners:

Margie Mason and Robin McDowell, Fruits of Labor, Associated Press: For exposing the rampant exploitation of workers on the vast palm oil plantations of Southeast Asia.

David Dayen “Unsanitized,” The American Prospect: For his daily report of news and analysis about the coronavirus pandemic.

Zachary D. Carter: The Price of Peace: Money, Democracy, and the Life of John Maynard Keynes, Random House
Rick Perlstein Reaganland: America’s Right Turn (1976-1980), Simon & Schuster

Aura Bogado and Melissa Lewis, The Disappeared, Reveal from the Center for Investigative Reporting:For their deep dive into the story of a Honduran girl held in the U.S immigration system for six years.

Tony Plohetski, Lights. Camera, Violence, KVUE-TV and the Austin American-Statesman: For exposing lethal police brutality and the intrusion of reality TV cameras into policing in Williamson County, Texas.

Opinion and Analysis
Jamelle Bouie, The New York Times: For his lucid analysis of politics and culture through a deep understanding of American history

Speak Your Mind